Since 1946 we have been the standard bearer of trade education excellence. A true “earn while you learn” program. Apprentices gain trade skills, knowledge, and licensure through both “On the Job Training” and structured classroom training, all while earning outstanding wages and excellent benefits.

A five year program, apprentices attend class two days a month from September through June. Students work under full time employment gaining valuable trade experience. Upon completion, apprentices will have a minimum of 8,000 on the job hours, 900 classroom hours, and a State of Texas Electrical License. Student’s also receive college credit through A.C.E.

Under the strict training standards of the Electrical Training ALLIANCE, the South Texas Electrical J.A.T.C. is committed to:

■ Providing “earn-while-you-learn” apprentices electrical education

■ Recruiting and training qualified electrical apprentices

■ Providing upgrade training for electricians

■ Maintaining progressive training facilities and materials

■ Providing on-the-job-training work and learning opportunities

■ Supplying subject matter experts to the electrical workforce

■ Labor and Management working together



Arnold Garza

Assistant Director / Instructor

John L. Martin

Training Director

Valerie Wood

Administrative Assistant


Randy Tiedeman

Inside Wireman Instructor

Eddie Mares

Telecommunication Instructor

Steven Trigo

BICSI Instructor

David Chapman II

Inside Wireman Instructor

Jory Reed

Telecommunication Instructor

Thomas Torres

BICSI Instructor

Jalaluldeen Lafta

Inside Wireman Instructor

Shane Groff

Telecommunication Instructor

JP Gomez

BICSI Instructor

Interview Committee

Chairman: Leonard De Braska, Mgmt. Rep.
Secretary: Gary Aiken, Labor Rep.

John Miller, Management Rep.
Danny Mata, Labor Rep.
Joseph Weyel, Management Rep.
Edward Shierk, Labor Rep.

JATC Committee

Chairman: Forrest Wilson, Management Rep.
Secretary: Gary Aiken, Labor Rep.

Greg Padalecki, Management Rep.
Steve Mini, Labor Rep.
Joseph Weyel, Management Rep.
Michael Lee, Labor Rep.

Telecom Adv. Committee

Chairman: Eddie Mares, Big State Elect.
Secretary: Jory Reed, Alterman Elect.

Joseph Weyel, CDI Technologies
Rene Escobedo, CDI Technologies
Gary Aiken, IBEW Local 60
Steve Mini, IBEW Local 60
Allan Miller, Alterman Elect.
Steve Trigo, Big State Elect.